CHED-BU Zonal Research Center
Zonal Research Center

Bicol University

Bicol University was created as a state university in the Bicol Region on June 21, 1969 by the Republic Act 5521 but it was formally organized only on September 22, 1970. Section 2 of the same Act provides for the conversion of the following schools to form the integrated units of the university:

  • The Bicol Teachers College (BTC) with its Laboratory School at Daraga, Albay, now the BU College of Education (BUCE) with its Laboratory School
  • Daraga East Central School (DCES) also at Daraga, Albay, now fused with the BUCE Laboratory School
  • Albay High School also at Legazpi, now BUCE Laboratory School
  • The Regional School of the Arts and Trades (BRSAT) also at Legazpi City, now the College of Industrial Technology
  • The Roxas Memorial Agricultural School (RMAS) at Guinobatan, Albay, became the College of Agriculture and now the College of Agriculture and Forestry
  • The School of Fisheries at Tabaco, Albay became the College of Fisheries, now the University Tabaco Campus.
These public schools and colleges which formed the nucleus of Bicol University had trained and educated the people of Bicol for more than half a century prior to their integration as component units of Bicol University.The College of Arts and Sciences, and the College of Engineering were organized in 1971 while the College of Nursing was opened in 1973.

The university has expanded from the core of six schools in 1969 to eight independent colleges and units spread over six campuses in two provinces in Bicol Region. In addition to the seven colleges, six institutes and centers have been created:

  • The Institute of Communication and Cultural Studies, now the College of Arts and Letters (CAL)
  • The Computer Science Institute
  • The Institute of Local Governance (ILG)
  • The Institute of Physical Education, Sports and Recreation (IPESR)
  • The Regional Science Teaching Center (RSTC)
  • The Sentro ng Wika.
Until the integration of the Peace and Security Studies programs in the relevant college of the University, there existed for a short while an Institute for Peace and Security Studies with five curricular programs corresponding to the five educational levels- elementary, secondary, baccalaureate (BAPSS), master's (MAPSS), and doctoral (PASA) levels. The BAPSS, MAPSS and PASA programs have widened the geographical reach of Bicol Uuniversity both within and outside of the Bicol Region.
CHED-BU Zonal Research Center